top of page

Jim McGillivray appointed Music Committee Chair

Jim McGillivray appointed Chair of the Music Committee of The Pipers’ & Pipe Band Society of Ontario along with five additional members

One of world’s most accomplished pipers was today confirmed Chair of the Music Committee by the Board of Directors of The Pipers’ & Pipe Band Society of Ontario. Master player, Jim McGillivray steps into the role of Chair of the PPBSO’s vital Music Committee, a diverse team of seasoned piping and drumming experts charged with nurturing and supporting the organization’s steady and true musical direction.

Jim McGillivray

McGillivray is joined by five new additional members, names familiar to many in the world of piping and drumming: Andrea Boyd, Ross Brown, Conor Cooper, Trish Kirkwood and Doug MacRae.

“There is lots to be done,” McGillivray said of the Music Committee’s mandate. “We have ongoing tasks like grading and judging that are always on slate, but we will also be looking into new initiatives to broaden the scope of the Society. I believe our Committee and the Executive Board will share much common ground in our goals and objectives.”

Said Michael Grey, newly-elected President of PPBSO, “We’re lucky to have Jim find the time to step into this MC role, his wisdom, experience and enthusiasm is just what we need now. The work of this group will be pivotal to ensuring the society moves forward, especially in these times of constant challenge.”

New appointees join current MC members, John Cairns, Hugh Cameron, Alan Clark, Harvey Dawson, Kate Dudek, Tyler Harris, Kyle Heaney and Brian McCue.


bottom of page